annunciations I II III


Annunciations I II III – Fortner Anderson (2012)
Three full-length cds
Label: les blocs errants
Review :

These three new disks are a collaboration between the poet and nine renowned composers and musicians: Nicholas Bernier, Christian Kesten, John Berndt, Alessandro Bosetti, Christian Calon, Martine Crispo, Ned Bouhalassa, Chantal Dumas and Andy Williams. Each has produced a substantial body of solo work on a number of North American and European labels (avatar, empreintes DIGITALes, Hrönir, No Type, Monotype, Errant Bodies).

The project began with a reading and poetic re-interpretation of three texts, the Columbia Crew Survival Investigation Report, published by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, the Fourth Assessment Report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change published by the United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, and the Joint Task Force Guantanamo Standard Operating Procedures for Camp Delta, the US military installation in Guantanamo, Cuba. Readings of the poems were recorded, and given to the nine composers who subsequently composed new works using the recordings.


Annuciations CD I

01. Ned Bouhalassa – 3 Out of Every
02. Andy Williams – Echo Chamber
03. Christian Calon – In the Time

Annuciations CD II

01. Nicholas Bernier – Belly Into Fire
02. Martine H. Crispo – Talking T. Fortner
03. Chantal Dumas – It’s a Small World

annuciations CD III

01. Alessandro Bosetti – It is Amazing (Gesualdo’s Waterboarding)
02. Christian Kesten – Every Sunday Remix
03. John Berndt – Song for Fortner Anderson